no recipe- just nori wraps

nori rolls

Lunch doesn’t really do it for me. Don’t get me wrong- my tummy gets its growl going but I just don’t get enthused for lunches offerings. I know that it doesn’t have to be that way but lunch is usually at work- and often it’s eaten standing at the stove. On the rare (but totally decadent) occasion that I do get to sit and prop my clogs up I’m faced with a crew lunch, which is a far cry, wail and a few stomping fists away from the glamour one would expect on a TV set.

If it comes to ordering out the absolute last thing I will choose for lunch is a sandwich. It’s not that I don’t love a good sandwich, tuna and salad, extra banana peppers, hold the mayo they just don’t love me. If I go the devil route and eat that sandwich I will find myself suddenly slipping off into a peaceful snooze. And it’s hard to enjoy a post lunch snooze when you have someone screaming for a reset down the walkie. So, I stay away from sandwiches- they are my rainy day lunch at home when I know all I have to comply with is a 6ft 3 husband who also wants the couch.

This is something slightly different though- it’s not a wrap with a tortilla but with a toasted sheet of nori. It’s my kind of make-at-home sushi- which doesn’t involve a bamboo mat or a Japanese name. Just toasted nori stuffed with well, whatever your little heart desires. It’s the perfect lunch when you’re pottering around the kitchen all day with lots of little bits of tasters or leftovers that you can stuff inside.

Nori Wraps

I don’t really have much of a recipe here for you today- just a bunch of pictures- because who has time to pull out a recipe for a working lunch? Oh, and these are just ideas- tuna and mayo nori wrap, why not!

Makes: Each sheet of nori makes 2 wraps

Diet facts: As good for you as you want it to be

Cut a piece of toasted nori in half…..
nori rolls

Top with some cooked brown rice (any cooked grain will do) direct it towards one corner on a diagonal if you’re going for a cone or you can wrap like a burrito.

nori rolls

Add some grated carrot salad (mine had basil, toasted cumin seeds, lemon & olive oil)……..

nori rolls

Sprinkle with some feta cheese (or cheese of choice)……..

nori rolls

Toss a few sprouts or greens in there (these are sunflower sprouts)……..

nori rolls

Begin to roll by folding up the short corner of the wrap….

nori rolls

All the way over……..

nori rolls

Looks like a nori wrap to me! Let’s do it again……..

nori rolls

This time humus forms the first layer…….

nori rolls

A few slices of avocado……..

nori rolls

A few tomato slices, with herbage of choice (mine is cilantro)

nori rolls

And roll away……..

nori wrap

4 Responses to “no recipe- just nori wraps”


  1. 1 Cucinista October 26, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    Totally with you on the evil snooze-inducing sandwich. I like the look of these nori wraps — a good substitute.

  2. 2 my boyfriend cooks for me October 29, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    What an interesting way to spice up the “sandwich” concept. I’m going to have to try this sometime soon.


  1. 1 Crepecake roll-ups « London Foodie In New York Trackback on October 28, 2009 at 8:27 am
  2. 2 London Foodie in New York Trackback on November 12, 2009 at 6:12 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

