Carrot, avocado & cumin salad

carrot avocado & cumin salad

When I fancy a bowl full of health this is my go-to-salad. I can toss it together in a matter of seconds and know that soon enough I’ll be plopped on the sofa giving myself a hefty dose of internal TLC. With all that colour, you know that you’re on to a good thing. If I’m feeling energetic I might tuck some up in a sheet of toasted nori with a layer of hummus. But mostly I just like to sit back on the sofa, pull my cashmere blanket up under my arms and eat it straight from the bowl I made it in. I like the way that the carrots crunch between my teeth, the way the avocado is silky smooth on my tongue and how the mint leaves me feeling refreshed. Don’t forget the toasted cumin seeds, lemon and a good drizzle of extra virgin olive oil for an extra dose of flavour and health. Be warned though, you may just find yourself bouncing off the sofa after a bowl of this.

carrot avocado & cumin salad

Carrot, avocado & cumin salad

If you want to make this salad ahead of time, just leave out the avocado so that it doesn’t turn brown or go mushy. This recipe easily doubles.

Serves 1-2

Diet facts: vegan, GF, soy-free!!

2 average-sized organic carrots

drizzle of extra virgin olive oil

1 tsp cumin seeds

small handful mint, basil or coriander leaves

pinch salt

1/2 lemon

1/4-1/2 ripe avocado

Prep work

Peel the carrots and grate on the coarse side of a box grater • Put a drizzle of oil in a small frying pan and then toast the cumin seeds until you can smell them • Chop the mint • juice the lemon • cut the avocado into smallish cubes

How to make

In a small bowl mix together the carrots, cumin seeds with the reserved oil, chopped herbs and lemon juice. Season to taste. Once ready to serve, carefully fold through the avocado.

2 Responses to “Carrot, avocado & cumin salad”


  1. 1 Lara (Thinspired) November 4, 2009 at 8:13 am

    What a great, simple recipe. I have recently discovered my love for cumin! However, I have only bought it already ground. Do you recommend buying the whole seeds, instead?

  2. 2 Anna November 4, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    I love the whole seeds because of the crunchy texture and they won’t alter the colour of the carrots!


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

