A RECIPE: Fifth Avenue Shortbread

Fifth Avenue Shortbread

There is no questioning the fact that shopping in New York is great. But, I visited Saks fifth avenue yesterday- which I found to be more of a museum than a place that one would go to buy a pair of jeans. I was given a gift certificate there for Christmas- a mixed blessing if you ask me as there is very little to buy there under a couple hundred bucks (not to be ungrateful). It’s definitely not my kind of store but I worked my way round hoping that maybe there was an amazing food department hidden somewhere- like Harvey Nichols, Selfridges or even Harrods where I could blow my credit on a beautiful hunk of cheese or . But, alas, no there is no food department ( or not that I could find). Just floor after floor of expensive clothes and people spraying you perfume. I’m a cook, so I spend my life stinking of garlic with flour hand prints on my backside-I definitely don’t belong in this kind of place let alone these kind of clothes. I left empty-handed with the idea that when my more glamerous sister comes to stay she might be able to guide me through the maze of luxury that is Saks. And in the meantime, I’m going to make my favourite Millionnaires shortbread- renamed ‘Fifth Avenue Shortbread’ because I think it’s good enough to be sold at Saks.

Fifth Avenue Shortbread

Fifth Avenue Shortbread

This is my all-time favourite treat. The chocolate you use here is very important, so buy as expensive as you can afford. I love Green & Blacks- a mix of milk and dark is beautiful.
ps. A flour print on you backside is essential to your success in making these.

For the base:
175g/6oz butter
75g/3 oz caster sugar
175g/6 oz plain flour
75g/3 oz corn flour

For the middle: ( you can double this if you like a thick caramel layer)
100g/4 oz butter
2 tbsp golden syrup or maple syrup
1/2 tin condensed milk

For the chocolate layer:
200/7 oz Green & blacks milk and/or dark chocolate

1 20cm x 30cm baking tin

1 Heat the oven to 180C/Gas 4/350F. Beat the butter until soft, then beat in the sugar. Add the flour and cornflour and mix until it comes together into a ball. Line the base of the tin evenly and prick all over with a fork. Bake in the oven for 20-30 mins or until lightly golden on top. Allow to cool.

2 Once cool, melt the butter in a small saucepan, then whisk in the syrup and condensed milk until combined. Stir over a gentle heat, constantly allowing to come up to a gentle boil (do not allow to burn!) and allow to gently simmer until it thickens and turns a golden colour (this will take at least 5 minutes). Pour over the cooled base and allow to set.

3 Once the caramel has set, break the chocolate into pieces in a bowl. Place a small saucepan with 2 cm of water onto boil, once boiling, place the bowl of chocolate over the water (make sure the base of the bowl isn’t touching the water) then turn the heat off and allow the chocolate to melt slowly, stirring occasionally with a spoon. Once melted, pour over the caramel layer, spread evenly and allow to set in the fridge. Cut into squares and feel better than a million dollars as you sink your teeth in.

13 Responses to “A RECIPE: Fifth Avenue Shortbread”


  1. 1 Trisha July 23, 2009 at 2:42 am

    I love Green & Black’s too… and I made some brownies from some bars but now I have the perfect recipe to finish off my remaining bars! This looks absolutely divine and I’m sure they taste even better too.

  2. 2 mathildescuisine July 23, 2009 at 6:11 am

    My stomach is still full from a heavy dinner last night but after having read your post, I think there’s still a space for these wonderful shortbread. Looks absolutely amazing!
    I went to NYC last year and you’re right, the food was absolutely fantastic..

  3. 3 Rebecca July 23, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    wow I adore millionnaires shortbread, this caught my eye on the top 9 I am a Brit living in NC, great site

    Rebecca

  4. 5 s. Stockwell July 24, 2009 at 12:59 am

    Oh my! We are saving this for the Holidays!!! looks like Saks should place a big order for their Christmas Catalog of very expensive gifts? Great post. Thanks, s

  5. 6 5th ave autohaus calgary September 14, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    Everything is very open with a really clear explanation of the issues.
    It was definitely informative. Your website is very
    useful. Thanks for sharing!

  6. 7 Faye June 13, 2014 at 4:17 pm

    After exploring a few of the articles on your web site, I
    honestly like your technique of writing a blog.
    I saved it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back in the near future.
    Take a look at my website too and let me know how you feel.

  7. 8 Eleanor September 12, 2014 at 2:08 pm

    Good post. I willl be expeiencing many of these
    issues aas well..


  1. 1 A RECIPE: Chocolate and Walnut Fudge « London Foodie In New York Trackback on December 21, 2007 at 1:43 pm
  2. 2 Death by Chocolate, yes please « London Foodie In New York Trackback on February 4, 2008 at 5:05 pm
  3. 3 Bagel Shops » Fifth Avenue Shortbread and a trip to Saks London Foodie In New York Trackback on March 10, 2008 at 5:36 pm
  4. 4 A RECIPE: Chocolate cocoa nib shortbread, revisited « London Foodie In New York Trackback on August 5, 2009 at 7:23 pm
  5. 5 Holiday Recipes: Chocolate and Walnut Fudge | Nibblers Trackback on December 15, 2009 at 3:53 am

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

Recent Comments

chinese Food on A Pickle with Okra & Summe…
cooking vacation hol… on A Pickle with Okra & Summe…
health insurance on A RECIPE: Chocolate Hobno…