Welly Boots and Chocolate Flapjacks

chocolateflapjacks.jpg

I wasn’t planning a trip back to the UK quite so soon, but as always something came up that forced me to make an entry to my carbon trail log. I flew into Heathrow at 6:30 am, and breathed a sigh of relief. I was home. This was followed by a wait of 30 minutes to disembark the plane, a sardine-tin ride by bus to the terminal, a 30 minute scrum to get through immigration, an hours wait for bags because the baggage trolley had to cross an active runway and was finished off by an extortionate fair on the Heathrow express and a sweaty ride on the Bakerloo line with the mornings commuters. Yes, I was most definitely home; sweet home.

I was going to spend the rest of the week in the countryside and I was delighted by the thought of hoiking on my welly boots and being covered in dog hair and barnyard smells again. Since being in New York, I’ve missed my little country retreat and it was lovely to gulp in the fresh air and be able to see all around instead of just straight ahead or straight up. My aunt has my dream kitchen, stone-tiled floors, an Aga, a large wooden table to eat around and washing-up sink looking out over the fields and Levington marina. Bliss. My ‘kitchen’ in New York is the length of an outstretched arm- not both arms, one. I stare into a cupboard when I wash up in New York and there isn’t space for my 6ft tall boyfriend let alone for an aga or a communal table. I worked on a job last week and the publicist commented on how few props I appeared to have at home- ‘well, my kitchen is the size of my one out-stretched arm’ I replied. ‘Up.” She said. ‘In New York you have to build up’. Ah yes, that famous New York real estate dilemma- must build up not out.

Based on the size of my quasi-kitchen it makes me wonder how many people in New York actually cook- everyone delivers (even up to your six-floor walk-up apartment), eating out is cheap and a kitchen isn’t really a kitchen because most places don’t even give you a place to chop an onion! When I viewed the apartment I now live in one of the landlords biggest selling points was that every restaurant delivers here. There’s no washing machine or dishwasher and the apartment is only 6×6 (feet that is, not meters) but that didn’t matter because ‘everyone delivers’. My strives towards being Martha Stewart-esque were thwarted right in their tracks. I read somewhere recently that 90% of Americans don’t own a set of scales- which I now know that in New York is because if you own a set of scales then you don’t have room in your solitary kitchen cupboard for tin of beans! My kitchen consists of an oven, a sink and a fridge-freezer. There’s no surface to chop anything you might cook and no place to dry up the dishes you might want to wash-up after eating. The lack of space causes no lack of stress and arguments with my boyfriend as we try to navigate around one another without breaking yet another plate. So, I’m feeling a tad-bit homesick for space after a week of cooking heaven- friends and family go without saying but mostly I just miss my old kitchen. Too be able to spread out my ingredients and not have to take each out one at a time because if you have a bag of flour on the table at the same time as a bag of sugar then there’s no room for your mixing bowl! Oh, and there’s even room for a set of scales. What a novel idea.

chocolateflapjacks.jpg

Chocolate Flapjacks

I tested these flapjacks 3 times this weekend- my expert taste team of hungry teenage boys helping me to fine-tune them. All the batches were scoffed enthusiastically but this one came out on top.
P.S. You don’t need a large kitchen to make these.

Makes 16

300g porridge oats (the finer quick-cooking ones not the thick ones’)
1 heaped tbsp flour
Pinch of salt
150g butter
1 tin condensed milk
200g plain chocolate or a mix of dark and milk, broken into pieces

1/ Preheat the oven to 170C/ 300F/Gas 3. Grease a 9-inch square tin and line the base with parchment and grease again. In a large bowl mix together the oats, flour and salt and set aside. Over a gentle heat, melt the butter until beginning to bubble then whisk in the condensed milk until combined and warmed through (about 1 minute)

2/ Add ¾ of the chocolate pieces and take off the heat. Gently stir, allowing the chocolate to melt and cool the mixture down. Pour into the oats and mix until completely combined.

3/ Add the remaining chocolate chunks and fold through. Pour into your greased tin and bake in the oven for about 20 minutes or until set on top. When you gently press the top they will still seem wet but will set once they begin to cool. I’m not sure how long these keep for- they never lasted that long.

9 Responses to “Welly Boots and Chocolate Flapjacks”


  1. 1 Caroline February 11, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    I’ve made these twice now and they are a huge favorite. I’ve also tried the scones recipe and it was perfect. Thank you.

    Love your blog!

  2. 2 Anna Helm February 11, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    Thank you Caroline! It’s always good to know when a recipe is enjoyed! Keep me posted on how you get on if you try any others.

  3. 3 Libertygirl February 14, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    I chuckled when I read this: I have zackerly the same problem. I’m having four friends round for Indian food on Saturday, & I honestly don’t know how I will cook four separate dishes plus make raita & naan in my shoe box. I miss my London kitchen that seats 14 people, with enough counter prep space to plate for 14 too… sigh…LLG xx

  4. 5 beats dre headphones October 4, 2013 at 8:19 pm

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book
    in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics
    to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that,
    this is magnificent blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

  5. 6 bookkeeping and payroll services September 25, 2014 at 12:49 am

    Bookkeeping is a daunting task; many companies have failed due to poor bookkeeping.
    It is like the transaction register for a checking
    account, but it allocates income and expenses to various income and
    expense accounts instead of just tracking deposits and withdrawals.
    Bookkeeping and accounting are the simplest processes that a
    company can contract out to another. When you are starting out take into consideration is an excellent beginning to sell off
    general sterling silver rings, in that case there are certain issues that you have to find out.

  6. 7 bookkeeping and accounting September 25, 2014 at 2:05 am

    With an online bookkeeper, you are getting a professional that
    is experienced. There is no need to work over time since with the
    help of this bookkeeping software, bookkeepers – A
    jobs can be achieved effectively and speedily. When looking
    for accounting software for your business, what features matter most to you.

    All this may appear to be trivial things, but trust me one when you actually sit down to calculate all the transaction you will
    find that this small things are the ones that turn out to be more time
    consuming then the others.

  7. 8 Click Home October 21, 2014 at 12:10 am

    bookmarked!!, I ove your web site!


  1. 1 A New Home and Kitchen Woes « London Foodie In New York Trackback on November 8, 2007 at 11:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

