Saturday morning baking

Some people unwind at the end of the week with hot bath, a yoga session or a glass of wine but for it’s baking on Saturday mornings. I feel more focused and at ease with life when I’m baking in my pyjamas as the sun comes up with a mug of tea in hand and the radio on in the background. I roll out of bed without an alarm, put on my glasses, tie my hair back and get the kettle going. Before Don has even stirred, the apartment has been filled with sweet smells and I’m already covered in flour as I jot down notes in my testing book. And no, I’m not middle-aged (eccentric, probably) I just sometimes prefer the life of one who’s considered to be middle-aged. Dinner parties, good wine, NPR and baking on Saturday mornings. This of course, makes going out partying on Friday evenings considerably undesirable. Then my Saturday mornings are spent rolling around in bed well passed the rising of the sun demanding tea and complaining how I’ve wasted my favourite day of the week. So, middle-aged Saturday’s tend to win out, despite my best attempts at being sociable on Fridays.

It is my need for baking therapy on Saturday mornings that now a year into my relocation from London to New York, I still find the nightlife in New York intimidating. The days of ‘last tube’ and ‘last call’ are well and truly over. In fact going out in New York on the weekend tends to commence when normally everyone would be downing their last pint, were it a London pub. Invitations to parties starting at 7 pm are unheard of- it’s more like 10, 11 or even 12. Relaxing at the weekends used to be sacrosanct, now they are a highly sought after commodity. As someone who loves their bed, and sleeping in it even more, you can see how this has proven to be somewhat of a complication for me. I’ve adapted to many things in New York over the last year, measuring in cups and ounces included, but shifting into the late night mode is one type of jet-lag that I decidedly will never adjust to. I thought I understood the meaning behind the city that never sleeps phrase before I moved here, but I had no idea quite how sleep-deprived this city really was. New Yorkers don’t unwind in a very relaxing manner.

I could argue that it’s how hard I work during the week, or the fact that I start work before the crack of dawn that makes me long for my bed on a Friday night- but really I know in my heart of hearts, it’s baking on Saturday mornings. AARP card not required.

4 Responses to “Saturday morning baking”


  1. 1 ExpatKat February 2, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    I so agree with you here. I love baking on a Saturday morning, but sadly I AM middle-aged. (I maintain that it’s the outside that slowly falls apart though, inside I’m still 21!) I feel deprived if I have to drive the kids to sports at the weekend right in the middle of my cooking time. Today though, I got lucky. I have a chili cooking slowly in the crockpot for tomorrows big game, I’ve made crepes for breakfast and a delicious Norwegian rice pudding for lunch, served with cinnamon, sugar and a dollop of butter. Mmmm….

  2. 2 Carrie February 3, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Nothing beats the smell of freshly baked muffins on a Saturday morning- middle-aged or otherwise!

  3. 3 Anticiplate February 3, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    Wow! Can I come to your house? I wish I had the motivation to bake. I feel the same way, though, about cooking. There is something therapeutic about it. I could be dancing all day long and be exhausted, but somehow, cooking relaxes me and I am never to tired for that!

  4. 4 Holly February 18, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Also not middle aged but have recently got into the habit of Saturday afternoon cooking. After a busy morning in south London I keep ending up passing waitrose and being drawn to the automatic doors . A few hours and a full stomach later, I’m chilled, ready to go out and happy in the knowledge that there’s leftovers for breakfast


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

