A RECIPE: Coconut krispies


coconutkrispies21.jpg

Who hasn’t swooned over a Rice Krispie Treat in their life? They were certainly a prominent feature at all my school sports matches growing up and when I made them for my cousins last year they thought I was a some sort of culinary genius (bless their easy-to-please-sweet-toothed-souls). I thought my Aunt Nicky had really outdone me when she invented the Rice Krispie Treat avec Cadbury’s Caramel bars- now this was definitely a genius idea but I have no sooner learnt that Rice Krispie treats are more diverse than one would think. The other day at work we had to make Rice Krispie Treats (my job can be so challenging sometimes) and it bought back all these wonderful memories- sometimes it only the trashiest of recipes that are the most memorable. Being who I am though, I couldn’t possibly publish a recipe that was on the back of a box of cereal- it had to be altered, and that’s when I noticed the bottle of coconut oil, staring down at me, glistening enthusiastically in the sun.

Okay, okay so I admit that I’ve taken this whole coconut oil obsession a tad too far. And so, I promise you that this is the last of the recipes (at least for the time being). I do hate having half empty jars in my cabinets though and this finished the last of it off and so now I can move on to something else. This is hardly a recipe anyway- but it makes a wonderful afternoon treat and I even managed to stay away from adding chocolate, so it’s dairy free for all you intolerant people. If you don’t like the coconut oil, then suit yourself and replace with butter (you traditionalist you).

Coconut Krispies

Stop your complaining about having guests for tea- these don’t even have to go in the oven and taste a hundred times better than the ones you buy. Now get in the kitchen and get baking.

0.jpg

Makes 16

Difficulty: Not.

3 tbsp coconut oil

10.5 oz bag mini marshmallows

140g/5 cups rice krispies cereal

85g/1 cup dessicated coconut

1/ Spray a 9 x 13 inch baking tin with cooking spray. In a large pan, melt the coconut oil, then add the marshmallows and stir continuously to melt over a medium-low heat.

2/ Once melted, stir in the rice krispies and coconut and stir to combine. Press into your baking tin (the best way to do this is to spray a rubber spatula with cooking spray). Allow to cool at room temperature and cut into squares.

5 Responses to “A RECIPE: Coconut krispies”


  1. 1 White On Rice Couple February 13, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    My mother would love these! She is really not into sweets, but loves rice krispy treats . If I made this with the coconuts, she’ll love me to the max! Thanks for the recipe and great idea!

  2. 2 Caroline February 18, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    I finally found coconut oil at the organic food market and I made these yesterday – total YUM. Thank you!

  3. 3 Anticiplate February 21, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    I love coconut oil. I put it in oatmeal…but Rice Krispy Treats! What a great idea.


  1. 1 A Recipe: Nut & Seed Refrigerator Bars « London Foodie In New York Trackback on March 25, 2008 at 7:56 pm
  2. 2 A RECIPE: Coconut and Apricot Ice « London Foodie In New York Trackback on May 5, 2008 at 9:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

