A Recipe: Gluten-free biscotti

glutenbiscotti1.jpg

The bitterness of winter doesn’t seem to be tiring anytime soon and evenings bundled up on the sofa rather than sprawled out on picnic blankets in the park deem it the perfect excuse to indulge in some slow cooking. Casseroles, seven-hour leg of lamb, rusk cookies, biscotti- (just to name a few of my favourite things), left overnight or all day in the oven providing not only dinner but the best kind of air freshners on the market. There is only one thing better than the smell of baking cookies- and that is the smell of baking cookies all through the night. You can only hope that the entire batch you let pass your lips was only a dream- a nice one though it may be.

Alas, apparently these chilly times have also proven the ideal time for my 1970’s vintage (but not in a cool way) oven to choke out its final batch of biscotti. Perhaps I’ve abused it a little too much this winter, but I find this timing highly unreasonable. There is still, after all another month (at the very least) of cold weather to come and I shall find no comfort in my unpredictable gas hobs. But in respect to my oven, which lacks any distinguishable feature that might reveal to me what company had made it, in its time it had always worked better than the swanky new GE ovens we have at work. If only it were as easy as calling up a landlord and demanding it fixed or replaced but now that we are proud owners of our apartment it will get added to our ever increasing list of vital home improvements. Our shower broke two months ago and that may now be pushed down in the order of priority- because I think we’d all agree that weekend baking is more paramount than personal cleanliness.

Fortunately, for you, dear readers, my months of Saturdays spent in the kitchen rather than out on the town have paid off and I have a small back-log of recipes to tie you over until my oven recovers/is fixed/or replaced. And like a scolded child I will have to finally start attending to my ‘TO DO IMMEDIATELY’ list, immediately- more or less. Now can we all please have a moment of silence for my oven, which can’t be named.

Gluten-Free Chocolate and Peanut Biscotti

glutenbiscotti.jpg

It took me a long time to realise that a Gluten Free diet didn’t have to mean glutton free, as I frequently so cleverly joke. When my coeliac cousin visited us a few weeks ago I was determined to have something in the pantry that would suit her dietary needs and low and behold chickpea flour played trumps. The key here is to pack as much chocolate and nuts into the mixture to balance the slightly, though not offensively, beany flavour of the beans. Of course if I had been really clever I would have made these the day she arrived rather than the day before, which provided 24 hours for glutton-able Don to have his wicked way. Now, there’s an example of someone who wasn’t dreaming about eating an entire batch.

Difficulty: Easy if you have an electric mixer

Makes: Enough to satisfy any Glutton

3 eggs

200g/8 oz sugar

250g/9 oz chickpea flour, or millet flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

300g/11 oz salted peanuts, or unsalted piscachios + 1 tsp salt

300g/11 oz 72 % cocoa chocolate (bittersweet) chopped

1. Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/Gas mark 4. Line a large baking tray with parchment paper. Whisk the eggs and the sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer until very thick (about 10 minutes on a medium speed).

2. Sift over the flour and baking powder and fold in. Fold in the peanuts and chocolate. Using wet hands shape into a long roll (or two long rolls) and place on your baking tray.

3. Bake for 30 minutes, or until set and lightly golden. Turn the oven down to it’s lowest setting. Allow to cool for 10-15 minutes and then slice using a large chefs knife (don’t use a sawing motion or they will fall apart, cut straight down). Place cut side up on a baking tray (perferrably one with holes in it) and allow to dry out in the oven over night.

40 Responses to “A Recipe: Gluten-free biscotti”


  1. 1 Alex April 9, 2008 at 9:00 am

    They were very tasty (even though I only had a smidgen!)

  2. 2 peter osborne glutenology May 14, 2014 at 4:03 am

    Graham cracker crumbs can be gluten-free, so check the label to be sure you’re buying one of these varieties.
    When the water is affected this can also affect the livestock such as
    cows or pigs that are often on nearby farms. Popcorn, a dieter’s dream snack is also on
    the okay list.

  3. 3 home repair professionals May 17, 2014 at 6:03 pm

    No matter if some one searches for his vital thing, therefore he/she wants to be available that in detail, thus that
    thing is maintained over here.

  4. 4 Amazing Cleanse Supplement June 10, 2014 at 5:02 pm

    Hey would you mind letting me know which hosting company
    you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and I
    must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
    Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a honest price?
    Thanks, I appreciate it!

  5. 5 Buy ketone Advanced June 30, 2014 at 5:13 pm

    Thanks for your marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.
    I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and may come back down the road.
    I want to encourage you continue your great posts, have
    a nice holiday weekend!

  6. 6 best workouts for toning women July 1, 2014 at 11:52 am

    Hello I am so excited I found your website, I really found you by error,
    while I was browsing on Askjeeve for something else, Regardless I am here now and
    would just like to say many thanks for a incredible post and a all round entertaining blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have book-marked
    it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read more, Please do keep up the superb job.

  7. 7 histats.com July 4, 2014 at 6:51 pm

    Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative.
    I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  8. 8 custom website design July 12, 2014 at 4:38 am

    No matter if some one searches for his essential thing,
    thus he/she wants to be available that in detail, so that thing is
    maintained over here.

  9. 9 custom glock slide plate covers July 13, 2014 at 12:44 pm

    I feel thgat is one of the mos important information for me.
    And i’m glad studying your article. However should statement oon some normal issues,
    The website taste is perfect, thee articles is trruly
    nie : D. Excellent job, cheers

  10. 10 ​seo in des moines July 14, 2014 at 12:58 pm

    What’s up to every body, it’s my first pay a visit of this blog; this weblog carries remarkable and
    really fine material in support of visitors.

  11. 11 www.illustrious-Gaming.net July 15, 2014 at 3:02 am

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on cleanse the col. Regards

  12. 12 Quibids Review July 21, 2014 at 1:27 am

    Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice at the same time as
    you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a blog website?

    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted
    of this your broadcast provided bright transparent idea

  13. 13 strength training anatomy pdf July 27, 2014 at 4:56 am

    You should be a part of a contest for one of the best blogs on the internet.
    I am going to highly recommend this website!

  14. 14 foods to avoid when dieting August 1, 2014 at 11:43 pm

    This paragraph presents clear idea designed for the new people of blogging, that in fact how to do blogging.

  15. 15 khloe kardashian weight loss August 5, 2014 at 6:05 am

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. There’s no doubt
    that that you should publish more on this topic, it may not be a taboo subject but generally folks don’t speak about these subjects.
    To the next! All the best!!

  16. 16 come-dnr0z.fenkz.org August 7, 2014 at 3:08 am

    Hey! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok.
    I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

  17. 17 natural herpes treatment diet August 13, 2014 at 4:42 pm

    I think this is among the most important information for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things,
    The site style is perfect, the articles is really nice
    : D. Good job, cheers

  18. 18 how to treat herpes around mouth August 18, 2014 at 1:01 am

    Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you, However I am having problems with your RSS.

    I don’t know why I cannot join it. Is there anyone else having
    the same RSS issues? Anyone who knows the solution will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  19. 19 Active Cleanse Review September 21, 2014 at 1:06 am

    Spot on with this write-up, I absolutely believe this
    site needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be returning to see more, thanks for the advice!

  20. 20 Tiling Contractors in Dublin 13 September 22, 2014 at 2:25 pm

    If you are looking to employ tradespeople, it can be time-consuming and stressful, and can mean that
    you are hiring a firm who only carries out half the job.
    For that you will have to go through advanced training and which will take a
    month or two training. Plumbing tasks for your house can be
    undertaken by reliable plumbers, whether you need a new bathroom suite plumbing in for a wet room or bathroom or you have wall mounted radiators that need relocating.

  21. 21 trucchi hay day September 25, 2014 at 10:40 pm

    It’s amazing in favor of me to have a web site, which is valuable
    in support of my experience. thanks admin

  22. 22 Margret September 26, 2014 at 5:54 pm

    You are so cool! I don’t suppose I have read a single thing like this before.

    So good to find someone with a few unique thoughts on this topic.
    Really.. thank you for starting this up. This web site
    is something that is required on the web, someone with some originality!

  23. 23 gonetwise.com October 1, 2014 at 7:49 am

    Undeniably believe that which you stated.
    Your favorite justification seemed to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked while people
    think about worries that they just don’t know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could
    take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.

    Thanks

  24. 24 https://www.facebook.com/pages/Top-Food-Processors/116760531714910 October 5, 2014 at 3:10 pm

    Make sure to fill the compost holes with soil, so as not to
    attract fruit flies and gnats. Make a few changes to your appearance to convey a positive image.

    Another benefit of having a food processor is that you can serve freshly squeezed fruit juice to your family
    for breakfast.

  25. 25 bacaselengkapnya October 8, 2014 at 2:52 am

    You can find your VPN settings in your wireless networks settings are.
    But most journal articles have 8-point sort in figure captions that are as well modest to read on a 1280×800 screen.
    So, these are quite qualities and options about the samsung galaxy covers and skins.

  26. 26 glock slide plate covors October 8, 2014 at 3:53 pm

    If you would like to improve your knowledge simpky keep visiting this web page and be updated witgh the latest news update
    posted here.

  27. 27 vegetarian recipes October 12, 2014 at 11:39 am

    Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too magnificent.

    I actually like what you have acquired here, really
    like what you are saying and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it
    wise. I can’t wait to read much more from you.

    This is really a great site.

  28. 28 Maximo Allocca December 27, 2014 at 9:00 am

    Hello There. I found your weblog using msn. That is an extremely neatly written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read extra of your helpful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

  29. 29 free domain February 9, 2015 at 4:10 am

    I do not even understand how I stopped up right here, however I thought this submit was once good.
    I do not recognise who you might be however definitely you are going to a famous blogger when you are not already.

    Cheers!

  30. 30 morningstar premium membership December 9, 2015 at 12:32 pm

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this
    blog before but after looking at many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyways, I’m certainly delighted I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

  31. 31 -electrician December 20, 2016 at 8:02 pm

    We absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to
    be what precisely I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content for
    you? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write regarding here.
    Again, awesome web site!


  1. 1 A Recipe: Nut & Seed Refrigerator Bars « London Foodie In New York Trackback on March 27, 2008 at 6:13 pm
  2. 2 A RECIPE: Spicy, tangy and herby chickpea Salad « London Foodie In New York Trackback on April 29, 2008 at 1:14 pm
  3. 3 Starting Over « London Foodie In New York Trackback on May 22, 2008 at 1:28 pm
  4. 4 Gluten Free Biscotti « Healthy Kitchen Smells Fresh Trackback on December 3, 2008 at 2:22 am
  5. 5 2008 Kitchen faves « London Foodie In New York Trackback on January 1, 2009 at 1:33 pm
  6. 6 A RECIPE: South African rusks « London Foodie In New York Trackback on August 10, 2009 at 4:28 pm
  7. 7 learn about Trackback on September 24, 2014 at 8:25 pm
  8. 8 Maryland SEO Agency Trackback on December 2, 2014 at 6:00 am
  9. 9 minecraft Trackback on September 20, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

