A RECIPE: Speckled coconut macaroons

It happens every time I try to follow a recipe. I’ve mixed together all of the ingredients listed on the page and scooped a delicate pinky in for a sampling. And then similtaneously, or so it would seem, something through the cracked-open cupboard door grasps a hold of my eye, lures me towards it and forces me add it to a what could have been a perfectly fine recipe. Sometimes I wish I’d just tried the recipe untampered with and sometimes I have to admit I find myself thinking it was a stroke of culinary fate. Fate or just pure genius. Speckled coconut macaroons came about on one of these occasions.

Everything got in my way when I was trying to work on this recipe for the blog. Work for one thing, really got in the way. And then because I haven’t had an oven the only way to test them was at work- which I’ve been banned from doing so I had to sneak test them without the original recipe to hand. Honestly, the trouble I get myself into trying to keep this blog going. Then it was too dark to photograph them, which meant that I couldn’t eat them (talk about tedious) and by the time I did photograph them they were a bit past their best. I did manage to get there in the end though- and I think you’ll find yourselves thanking me for my troubles. Your welcome.

Speckled Coconut Macaroons

Originally based on Nigella Lawson’s coconut macaroon recipe from How to be a Domestic Goddess. Toasted coconut flakes on the the outside, crunchy rich cocoa nibs and chewy in the middle. You may actually find yourself feeling quite replete after just one. Eat them quickly- they do not age well.

Makes 16, give or take

Difficulty: Easy if you have an electric mixer or beaters

Diet Facts: Gluten-free, Vegetarian

2 egg whites
100g/ 1/2 cup sugar
250g/ 4 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
50g/ 1/2 cup coarsely ground almonds
50g/ 1/3 cup cocoa nibs
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp almond extract

1/ Heat the oven to 170C/325F/Gas 3. Beat the egg whites until they hold stiff peaks. With the mixer still running, add the sugar a teaspoonful at a time, whisking well between each spoonful (count to five then add another) until the meringue is thick, glossy and holds a medium peak (meaning the mixtures stands mostly upright with a tiny floppy end when you pull the beaters out).

2/ Fold through the remaining ingredients. Using slightly wet hands squeeze balls of the mixture (about the size of a squash ball). Don’t worry about making them perfect shapes, the rustic edges will become deliciously crisp as they bake. Place them 1 inch a part on a baking tray and cook for 15-20 minutes or until the edges have turned lightly golden. Meanwhile, make a cup of tea and eat one warm straight out of the oven. Eat the rest within 1-2 days.

3 Responses to “A RECIPE: Speckled coconut macaroons”


  1. 1 Kari May 28, 2008 at 10:12 am

    I am sorry this recipe gave you a lot of trouble! It looks fantastic though. I love COCONUT!

  2. 2 Celeste June 6, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    I am notorious for changing recipes, so my husband points out.
    I think the macaroons look wonderful. They are my favorite cookie to eat. When I am in Vancouver, BC visiting, one of my favorite must go to places is Terra breads at Granvillle Island market. Once there I pick up one macaroon along with a coffee and walk the rest of the market.
    I will be trying out your recipe for sure.


  1. 1 Coconut Macaroons | Nibblers Trackback on November 28, 2009 at 11:22 am

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

