CHEF’S TIP: Making a super supermarket list

Any level of cook can appreciate a tip that will get them through a busy market faster with as few bruises on their ankles as possible.  Italian celebrity chef Giada De Laurentis has just the trick. Instead of fussing about writing your list separated into veg, meats and dried goods etc write it in the order that you walk through the supermarket.

So at your local market you walk straight into the produce aisle- more specifically (for me) the lettuce and salad ingredients. Further down the aisle I hit the potatoes, garlic ginger and chiles and onions and then and its yogurt at the aisles bend before turning into the fruit aisle.

So my list would go:

1 packet mixed lettuce

1 cucumber

1 garlic bulb

2 chiles

Fage 2% yogurt

4 honey crisp apples etc

It happens to be something that I already do- and it helps me get in and out in record time. Who says you can only be so organised?

2 Responses to “CHEF’S TIP: Making a super supermarket list”


  1. 1 Kari October 7, 2008 at 10:49 am

    I do the same thing! Nice picture with Giada.

  2. 2 yvette taylor November 7, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    I do the SAME thing! I’m a personal chef and I actually created a Word template that is categorized exactly by the departments at Whole Foods where I shop (mostly). And in the order in which I enter the store (Ex: Fruit; Veggies; Specialty – cheese, antipasti, wine; Bulk – nuts, grains, spices; bakery – breads, etc, etc).

    It really does work and helps to keep me organized and from forgetting ingredients, or over-purchasing things I don’t need. Well, most of the time 😉 And when I’m writing out the list, it helps me to learn new recipes/ingredients.

    LOVE your blog!!


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

