A RECIPE: Pistachio & parmesan tuilles

I’ve had a whole week of producing bleh from the kitchen- and let me tell you it’s been a terribly long week. I planned on developing a dense fig and apple cake with pistachios, buttermilk, orange and honey- a little Middle Eastern, if you will. I cannot even begin to tell you how dull it tasted. How so many well-suited elements could bake into nothingness is beyond me. Just complete and utter bleh! Mediocrity at its finest.

I absolutely abhor waste and so I let it sit on the counter for days hoping that Don would one day feel so peckish that I he would no longer be able to avoid it. Alas, he is so well-fed that nothing became of it and I was forced to accept that my once inspired cake idea was only inspiration for the rubbish bin. Then followed the almond and apple torte, which had so many things going for it- except for the apples, which couldn’t hold their weight in flavour, sandwiched in a rich butter almond casing. Oh, how I pine for the unmatchable Bramley apple. So tart, so crisp and so pertinent in baking. I found myself reluctantly admitting defeat and accepting that my remaining apples would be for dipping in peanut butter or morning porridge only. I was in a state of kitchen block- nothing to cook and nothing worth writing about.

And so it was to my great delight that a recipe calling for pistachio and Parmesan crusted chicken came up at work and I found myself swooning over the crispy shards of Parmesan, the salty pistachios and the freshly chopped herbs- who needed the chicken? You certainly couldn’t taste it once topped with such a mighty crust. I altered the quantities, omitted the chicken and baked off little mounds until cripsy and golden. Perfect as an accompaniment to soups and salads but absolutely impeccable paired with a glass of wine- which is just what I needed after a mediocre week in the kitchen.

Pistachio & parmesan tuilles

Inspired by Art Smith’s pistachio and Parmesan crusted chicken I made them more cheese and less nuts to keep them crispy. Best served on the day- and absolutely at their best paired with a glass of bubbly.

Makes 10, easily doubled

Diet Facts: Gluten Free and not fried!

50g/ 1/2 cup grated Parmesan

50g/ 1/4 cup + 1 Tbsp chopped pistachios

one rounded tsp chopped rosemary

one rounded tsp chopped thyme

1/4- 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper (the more the spicier the tuilles will be)

1/ Heat the oven to 200C/400F/ Gas 6. Mix together all of the ingredients and spoon ten tablespoonful-sized mounds onto a nonstick baking pan. Bake in the oven for 5-6 minutes or until lightly golden. Remove from the oven. If you want to make them into a curved shape, immediately drape them over a rolling pin and allow to cool. If you want flat disks allow to cool on the tray.

3 Responses to “A RECIPE: Pistachio & parmesan tuilles”


  1. 1 Palmariello October 14, 2008 at 5:39 am

    Congratulations, a truly innovative recipe

  2. 2 Louise October 14, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    Wow … these simply must make their way into my kitchen! With their crazy colors, I think I’ll make them for Halloween and give them some ghoulish name.

  3. 3 Liene at Blue Orchid Designs October 28, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    Wow, these look amazing! I am suddenly hungry again . . . .


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

