Quick Fix: Brie & prosciutto grilled cheese

briochebrie&proscuittosandwich

I have a new toy which has made me just a little bit overexcited. Actually I have two new toys and the best part about my toys is that you are going to benefit from them. Those are the only gifts I really like after all- the one where giver and receiver equally benefit from said gift. It brings a whole new level of joy to the actual giving of the gift- like giving yourself a present every time you give someone else a present. It’s a policy I firmly stand by and it works in several ways. I give Don a shirt because I want to see him wear something other than a polo with his school logo on it. I give my sister a weekend in New York because it’s really like giving myself a fun weekend in New York. If I go to a dinner and I’m asked to bring along something- I bring something that I know I want to eat. I give my doorman cookies because I want him to hold my keys when I go running. Some may call this bribing, I prefer to call it gifts with benefits.

My little gifts with benefits are a new camera- the Canon Rebel EOS and a photo studio light so I can snap away at all times of the day. Gone are the days where I have to worry about the lights or the sun and Don will be given a deserved rest from sun blocking duty. And for you, my dearest readers- it means a new series called quick fixes. It’s what I’m cooking on the weeknights, which means it’s quick and easy because like most people I can’t face much time in the kitchen after work. Most of the recipes will keep the ingredients flexible and I’ll keep the recipe format simple. This week it’s a brioche grilled brie and prosciutto sandwich- something that I made in ten minutes for Don when he thought he was dying of the flu (it was actually just a minor cold but he’s a sensitive soul, so I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt).  This is trashy gourmet at it’s finest.

brieprosciuttosandwich

Brie & proscuitto grilled cheese

I won’t attempt to find any healthy benefits to this sandwich- it has no redeeming qualities, except for its ability to make you smile and say mmm!

Serves 1 glutton- dieters not invited

Slice 2 thick slices of brioche (or other bread). Melt a very small knob of butter in a pan over a medium heat and place the 2 slices in the pan. Remove once lightly browned. Top one of the browned sides with 50g/2oz sliced brie a couple of slices of prosciutto (or other ham) and top with the other slice of brioche, browned side down. Melt another small knob of butter in the pan and place the sandwich back in. Rest another heavy pan on top to press down. After about 3o seconds (or once lightly browned) flip over and again press using a heavy pan. Remove from the pan and serve immediately.

1 Response to “Quick Fix: Brie & prosciutto grilled cheese”


  1. 1 limeandlemon January 28, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    sooo delicious .. Love the photos .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

