A RECIPE: Green smoothie

Green smoothie

Monday’s have that unfortunate tendency to evoke an overindulged feeling. One too many glasses of wine on Friday- a few too many samples of Saturday’s freshly baked brownies and that second serving of Sunday lunch- and so it is by Monday you feel sluggish and bloated. Or perhaps it’s just being back in the office and having to commute on a steamy train that makes you feel sluggish and bloated.

Whilst you may think that the photo above resembles the wheat grass drink your crazy dieting friend once convinced you to knock back or that powdery green vegetable replacement stuff your mother used to make you drink- you’re wrong. Sooooo wrong, to be exact. This may be a green smoothie and yes, it may be healthy (perfect for after a food coma) but it has no relation to wheat grass or green powder- other than it’s unfortunate colour. If I could make it red I would, but adding berries would just turn it brown and that would be even less appealing. Oh dear, I don’t think I’m doing a very good job here- I wanted to convince you to make this smoothie but I fear putting  wheat grass and powdered vegetables in the same paragraph may have made you click off the site already.

Are you still there? Lovely reader? Lovely, beautiful reader who deserves nothing but the best on a Monday morning. Green’s not so bad really? Think apples and limes and fresh mint- green M&M’s (no, they’re not in here but they taste good!)

This delicious drink was introduced to me by my good friend Lish who stole it from a friend of hers- or was it me who stole it, I can’t remember. In any case, I couldn’t remember the original quantities so I had to keep remaking it to get it right. It’s right now.  It’s so right. There is the perfectly balanced amount of tart to sweetness and creaminess to lightness. There’s something refreshing about it and also filling.

Ok, I admit this does contain spinach- but really it’s just there as a filler- to bulk it out, trust me- even Popeye would be hardpushed to taste the spinach! Lish’s friend said not to serve it with ice, that it would negate its health properties but I fail to see why. What’s unhealthy about frozen water? Plus drinking this will make you feel healthy enough and frankly, the ice makes it taste even better. And the best is what you deserve, gorgeous, dear reader. Have I gone too far now?

Just try the gosh darn smoothie, will you?

Green Smoothie

This smoothie is like the equivalent of a nonalcoholic mojito- it has a slightly bitter edge but you can add honey or agave to adjust this to your liking.

Serves 1

Diet Facts: aren’t all green things healthy?

1 lime, rinsed cut into quarters (yes pith and all)

1/2 large or 1 small granny smith apple, cored and cut into chunks

1/4 cup plain yogurt, Greek and low fat are fine

large handful of baby spinach, washed

large handful of mint leaves

2 tsp flax seeds

handful of ice

agave or honey to taste (start with 1-2 tsp)

1/ Put everything into a liquidizer and whiz until smoothie consistency. If you need, add a splash of water.  Drink immediately and embrace the feeling of going green.

Other posts you might like

5 cooling drink ideas

5 Responses to “A RECIPE: Green smoothie”


  1. 1 don August 10, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    ok, so I am pretty skeptical about spinach and flax seeds in a smoothie (this is only slightly above wheat grass in my opinion…), but I’m willing to give this a whirl. Reading this has made me realize how much I miss Innocent smoothies from London. Argh, torture just thinking about their cranberry & raspberry one…

  2. 2 Anna Helm August 10, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    Haha! Try it try it! I would not put anything up here that’s not good!

  3. 3 Daniel August 11, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    Sounds pretty good to me. If Don wimps out, Mara and I might try making it ourselves. (Where does one get Flax seeds?)

  4. 4 lish August 13, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    i love it!!! glad it stuck with you my dear.

  5. 5 David Michaels August 17, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Looks interesting, thanks for the recipe!


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

