A RECIPE: Summer oatmeal

Summer oatmeal

I’ve had to change my breakfast preference. This hot muggy weather we’ve been having in New York has made eating my usual porridge quite an unbearable exercise.  Whilst I revel in the pleasure of an occasional curry-induced sweat, sweating over breakfast is not a situation that I delight in. Follow a sweaty breakfast with the hairdryer and a long wait on the subway platform and you are in for one sticky day. Pit stains, no charge.

I tried to switch straight to yogurt and fruit- but it just would not suffice. No matter how big the portion, an hour later and my stomach was arguing with my head that it was about bloody time it was fed again. I could not cope with this mind/body disagreement so I went back to the oats. I toyed with the idea of making my granola, but the problem that comes with granola is my right hand. Have I not told you about my right hand? It’s my snacking hand and it takes some serious reprimmanding to set it straight. Put something like granola nearby and it’s like dangling food in front of a dog- my right hand is easily distracted.

Then I remembered the Pukkola (also known as bircher museli) that Jamie Oliver used to make. When I worked on one of his TV series it was always there for crew breakfast- a creamy rich cold oatmeal with grated apple and finely chopped nuts. I put on a few pounds on that shoot and I blame a couple of those extra inches on breakfast alone.

So, this one is lightened up a bit. I prefer to use a skimmed milk or almond milk to soak the oats in- water makes a gloopy mess so don’t even go there. I added some wheat germ and flax seeds and added few nuts and the grated apple after the soaking process to give some more texture. Then, instead of finishing it off with more milk I topped the oats with fruit and Greek yogurt. You don’t have to let the oats soak over night- really an hour will be long enough to absorb all the milk- but most people don’t have that amount of time in the morning. As I’m in the habit of eating the same thing for breakfast day in and day out, the planning in advance thing really hasn’t turned out to be such a problem for me. Plus, I love finishing one meal and planning for the next. A procrastinator, I am not.

summer oatmeal

Summer Oatmeal

You can just leave this to soak for an hour but I find it’s easy enough to do after I’ve finished cleaning up after dinner. You can double and eat for 2 days but any longer than this and I find it changes the texture too much.

Serves 1
Diet Facts: just about the best unsweaty breakfast around

1/2 cup rolled oats (not quick cooking or porridge)
1 tsp ground flax seeds (optional)
1 tsp unsweetened wheatgerm (optional)
pinch of salt
1 cup skimmed milk/almond milk/soy milk/rice milk (any kind will do)
1 small (or 1/2 a large) eating apple ( I like Granny smith)
1 Tsp finely chopped nuts (I like almonds and brazil nuts)
Fruit and Yogurt to serve
honey, to serve (optional)

1/ Mix together the oats, flax seeds, wheatgerm and salt in a small bowl. Pour over the milk and mix to combine. Cover and leave over night in the fridge.

2/ Grate into the oats the granny smith apple and stir to combine. Stir in the nuts. You could also add dried fruits finely chopped at this point. Taste and if you feel like it’s not sweet enough go ahead and drizzle some in.

3/ You can either serve this on its own in which case I would pour over some more milk or you can serve it like I do with a big dollop of yogurt and some mixed chopped fruits.

Other breakfast ideas

Multi grain bread (with no kneading!)

Zucchini, mint & goats cheese fritatta

Museli without raisins

Pancakes

Buckwheat & poppy seed muffins

5 Responses to “A RECIPE: Summer oatmeal”


  1. 1 Kamran Siddiqi August 21, 2009 at 11:27 am

    YUmm! Finally something I can do with the huge tub of organic yogurt that my father brought me. Why did he buy a huge tub of yogurt? I really don’t know.

    Great post and recipe! 😀

  2. 3 Rachel August 25, 2009 at 10:53 am

    I made this for breakfast this morning (a modified version…can’t use wheatgerm and didn’t have any nuts!) but it was YUMMY! Definitely a good alternative to boring cereal and super filling.


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

