A RECIPE: Peanut butter & almond granola

peanut butter & almond granolaIt is true I’ve posted something similar to this before. It’s also true that last week I said I would not  be making granola after previous issues with my snacking hand. I’m so bloody fickle.

In my defense, it was my dear husband who demanded the granola.  Of course as a good little wife I didn’t waste any time tying a bow in my apron and tottering off to the kitchen.  At least when he’s around, things don’t last long enough for me to get snacking. In any case I ran out of flour to make my usual Saturday loaf of bread, so really granola was the best I could do for him. And I must say, this is brilliant granola.

Being that I’ve recently gotten involved in the BSI (bloggers secret ingredient challenge) I thought that peanut butter granola might be just the thing to make. The peanut butter makes for a really clumpy granola- or should I say chunky? Am I the only one who picks out the chunks first? The single toasted oats are always the last dregs in the jar to go- generally I’ve lost interest by the time I get to them.  I want a couple of nuts and a few seeds bounded together by cluster of toated and flavourful oats. This provides infinite more satisfaction than flakey granola. Plus it makes less mess when you knock back a fistful before pouring some into a bowl. You also get the added bonus of a healthy cereal tasting of peanut butter for breakfast (my mother would hate this idea).

Be sure to head over to Kim’s ordinary recipes made gourmet to see the other contestants and winner.

Peanut butter & almond granola

Peanut butter granola

This is a quick & easy granola for peanut butter lovers only! Store in an airtight container for up to a week.

Makes 8 cups

Diet facts: not for those with nut and seed allergies!

225g/ 2 1/2 cups rolled oats

30g/ 3 tbsp flax seeds or sesame seeds

55g/ 1/3 cup sunflower seeds

55g/ 1/3 cup pumpkin seeds

140g/ 1 cup raw almonds (or nuts of choice)

1 tbsp sunflower oil

1 tsp Maldon sea salt (or half a teaspoon of salt)

6 tbsp maple syrup ( honey or agave nectar)

175g/ scant 2/3 cup smooth & creamy peanut butter  (or other nut butter)

1/ Heat the oven to 170C/325F/Gas 3. Mix together all of the ingredients and then spread out on a large baking tray (or two) in a fairly even layer- it’s okay for it all to be touching.

2/ Bake in the oven for about 30-40 minutes, or until lightly golden, turning once half way through. Generally speaking you know it’s ready when you can smell the roasting nuts. Allow it to cool and crispen up on the the tray before storing in an airtight container.

8 Responses to “A RECIPE: Peanut butter & almond granola”


  1. 1 redlkathy August 23, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    Oh I have to try this…. My youngest will be in heaven!

  2. 2 Kelly August 24, 2009 at 10:53 am

    This looks heavenly. I’ve been looking for a granola recipe to adapt to the slow cooker (supposedly it’s less likely to burn in one, and needs less turning.) I think I’ve found a contender!

  3. 3 Anna Helm August 24, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Let me know how you get on with the slow cooker! I’ve never heard of cooking granola in a slow cooker!

  4. 4 biz319 August 24, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    Great BSI entry! Looks amazing too! 😀

  5. 5 Gourmet Chick August 25, 2009 at 4:36 am

    There is something about making your own granola/muesli that just makes you feel so damn virtuous!

  6. 6 Anna Helm August 25, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    I agree Gourmet Chick- it also means you can put as many extra nuts in there as you like! I hate it when packages are skimpy on the nuts!

  7. 7 JenntheAmericaninFrance February 9, 2010 at 6:12 am

    I loved the recipe. I added wheat germ and some organic bourbon vanilla to it. It was good before but it gave it an added punch.

  8. 8 bodybuilding ernährungsplan muskelaufbau April 30, 2016 at 8:34 pm

    Good post! We are linking to this great article on our site.
    Keep up the good writing.


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

