A RECIPE & VIDEO: Lemon ricotta crostini

I am a recipe thief. Beware. You’ll have me for dinner one week, emails from me the next day and the following week your recipe will be poorly photographed up on my blog. It’s like a disease. Is there therapy for this sort of thing? Hi I’m Anna, and I’m a recipe stealer with little remorse and very little desire to be reformed. If any at all.
Lemon ricotta crostini

I should probably refrain from gloating about it. One of these days a friend is going to bop me in the nose and tell me to quit publishing their family’s secret recipes.  And then I’ll probably bop them back, because I’m not such a believer in secret recipes. Secrets are for back alleyways, passion-charged love affairs and early signs of pregnancy. Secrets in the kitchen? Pah! You must just not like to share. I’m not the only one out there who finds fault in secret recipes Molly over at Orangette has a whole chapter in her amazing  book that’s dedicated to it.

lemon ricotta cristini

Which is why I feel justified in sharing this recipe- another of my friend Lish’s. I wish she had a website so you could pop over and tell her how wonderful these little creamy bites  are (once you try them, that is). I suppose I’ll just have to take one for the team and you can shower me with praise instead. Of course I’ll try to remember to pass the message on.  Lish is full of good ideas- which is why I’m friends with her and also why I’m always stealing from her. But I don’t feel too guilty about it because she’s usually already stolen them from somebody else. Lish is a recipe sharer. Although come to think of it she has never had me over for dinner, which seems a bit suspect to me. Perhaps she thinks I pilfer table linen too. Must make note to discuss with her. Because of course, stealing linen would be far too much hassle- recipes I can steal with my head.

lemon ricotta crostini

Lemon ricotta crostini

Lemon ricotta crostini (with hazelnuts and honey)

I love these- they have several components (all of which are very important) but they are so simple to make. Just one bit of advice- don’t assemble too far in advance or the bread will get soggy.

Makes: a lot (probably 30-40 depending on baguette size)

Diet Facts: parties are not for dieters

1 loaf french bread (sourdough or whole wheat are fine), on the thinner side- if you get the really thin you will probably want to halve the rest of the ingredients.

3 Tbsp Extra virgin olive oil, plus extra to serve

3 lemons (you will only need the zest- add the juice to a cocktail.)

100g/ 2/3 cup hazelnuts, toasted

900g/2 lbs good quality whole milk ricotta cheese

Maldon sea salt (or other flaky sea salt)- probably 1-2 Tbsp

80-100 ml/ 1/3 cup runny honey

1/ Heat your oven grill (broiler) on high. Slice your french bread about 1/2 cm/1/4 inch thick and place flat on a large baking tray (you will need at least 2). Brush on one side with the olive oil. Toast until lightly golden (this will take about 1 minute) and remove from the oven to cool.

2/ Prepare the lemons. Peel the lemon zest into long thin strands using a lemon zester ( a microplane is fine) and store in a small bowl covered with damp paper towel and cling film until ready to use.

3/ Crush the hazelnuts with a large knife and then roughly chop. Place into a small bowl until ready to use.

4/ To assemble, lay the crositini out on a platter. Top each with roughly 2 tsp ricotta, then sprinkle with hazelnuts, a couple of strands of lemon zest and sprinkle of salt, a drizzle of honey and a couple of drops of extra virgin olive oil. Serve immediately.

Other recipes you make like:

Marinated tuna with avocado & black sesame seeds

Avocado & tarragon bites

Pistachio & parmesan tuilles

Smoked salmon & cream cheese spirals

Squash, chorizo and feta tartlets

12 Responses to “A RECIPE & VIDEO: Lemon ricotta crostini”


  1. 1 James August 26, 2009 at 9:27 am

    I can testify that these little things are scrumptious! Great video.

  2. 2 Don August 26, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Agree – absolutely love these things!

  3. 3 Divina August 26, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    So many different flavors in just one bite that will explode in your mouth.

  4. 4 mathildescuisine August 27, 2009 at 4:49 am

    I went to NYC last year for a few days and it is true that the food is absolutely amazing in the city. Great recipe, it looks delicious

  5. 5 fast cooker August 27, 2009 at 6:45 am

    I can’t stop eating it.

  6. 6 Anna Helm August 27, 2009 at 7:04 am

    Excellent pleased to hear it!

  7. 7 lish August 27, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    love it! I steal recipes too. let’s be honest, every recipe comes from another recipe. this I credit our friend Katie with. Another amazing chef. And Miss Anna, i would love to have you over for dinner some time. hopefully when we have have a bigger cooler apartment but for now you are welcome to join us in our hot, tiny space. 🙂

  8. 8 susan from food blogga August 27, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    I just finished watching the video, and I have two things to say: 1. I’m stealing that crostini recipe from you. 2. You’re absolutely adorable.

    PS-Your recipe would transform beautifully into pasta. I make a pasta with ricotta, lemon, olive oil, and pine nuts.

  9. 9 Anna Helm August 27, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    hehe- lish I await the invite!
    Susan- aw shucks thanks. true, true it would make superb pasta!

  10. 10 rachelgrundy August 28, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    These little things are SO ADDICTIVE. Delicious. I like the idea of using it as a pasta sauce – may well try that!

  11. 11 Anna Helm August 28, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    let me know how it works rachel!


  1. 1 A Recipe & Video: Lemon Ricotta Crostini | Nibblers Trackback on October 21, 2009 at 7:16 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

