Steam-baked lemon & chili chicken

steam-baked lemon chili chicken

To say I learnt nothing at University would not be entirely true. The fact that my paper qualification has been of little benefit to me now is beside the point.

University was the time when I discovered the skill of pairing flavours. I learnt for instance that natural Peanut butter on a crispy-skinned baked potato is perfectly delicious on its own, but add some Marmite and wahey! Now, there is a happy little trio. And that alone, my friends, was quite a feat; considering the kebab-loving, mircrowave-dependent company I kept.

Not discouraged by their lack of culinary prowess, I cooked myself an intricate tasting menu almost every night. (One night a week was reserved for peanuts and a bottle of wine at the pub.) On nights at home I would, for instance take a chicken breast, cut it in three pieces and cook each part in a different way. And of course, if the chicken was unique then so should be its accompaniments.

Making dinner was quite the ordeal. Anything that disrupted this indulgent ritual of mine, such as late running play rehearsals or lectures were sorely frowned upon. I’d spend two to three joyous hours a night preparing dinner for one and on occasion a few uncivilised guests.  It was my personal Yoga, complete with deep breathing and some interesting poses as I danced around the kitchen and my apathetic housemates.

They of course, thought I was nuts and didn’t see the necessity in hogging every flame on the stove and pan in the cupboard.  I ignored it all- I was at peace. Ohmmmmmm.

I didn’t have many cookbooks and at the time the Internet wasn’t the bounty of information that it is now but I picked up magazines and supermarket recipe cards- anything that I could get my hands on- for free, mind.

One of my housemates was on Weight Watchers, (a rather extreme self-monitored version) but she had a couple of cookbooks that I occasionally trawled through. One such recipe I came across was Marmite roast potatoes- which, before you judge I must top you and let you know were divine. Crispy potatoes with a reassuringly salty glaze- rather like Twiglets only with a soft, floury centre beneath the crisp outer shell. Rest assured, one of these days I plan to replicate them.

Somewhere along the line I acquired one of these books and one pre-wedding evening Don cooked from it. He carried with him the smug knowledge that if I questioned how much oil he used or complained about my dress not fitting he could whip out the evidence in book-form to support his healthy meal claim.

It’s the only thing we’ve cooked from the book since- adapting it a little each time to find the perfect balance. It’s what I refer to as a Don-approved meal- one that I can feel at ease about when he’s offered to cook dinner. No surprises.

Steam baked chili chicken

I don’t really know what the technical term is for the way this chicken is cooked, which is why I’ve called it steam-baked. It literally steams in its foil package whilst it bakes in the oven. The result of which I now believe is the one of the best ways to cook a too often dry or bland boneless, skinless chicken breast.  Being that two uninterrupted hours to make dinner are now a rarity, I particular like the fact that you don’t have to wait for the chicken to marinate. It does that all by itself in it’s the oven- whilst also providing a magnificent sauce. I love when food does the works for me- talk about delegation.

This recipe is part of the ‘In the bag’ competition run by the blog A Slice of Cherry Pie. It was the first thing I thought of when I saw the list of ingredients – chicken, garlic and red chillies. You certainly won’t think you’re dieting when you’re eating it. But you may well find you loose a little weight- if you’re counting your points, that is.

steam-baked lemon & chili chicken

Steam-baked lemon & chili chicken

This is one of my favourite ways to cook chicken- because it never dries out. It’s also delicious cold the next day for lunch.

Serves: 2

Diet Facts: You wouldn’t believe me if I told you it was healthy

2 x boneless skinless free range organic chicken breasts

4 tsp Dijon mustard

1/2 tsp sea salt

2 spring onions (scallions), finely chopped

2 red birds eye chilies, stemmed, seeded and finely diced

2 small garlic cloves, crushed or finely diced (jalepeños also work nicely)

1 lemon, zest & juice

1 Tbsp good olive oil

1/ Heat the oven to 190C/375F/Gas 5. Trim the chicken, cutting away any nasties and then lay out on a large piece of tin foil on a baking tray or in a roasting tin.

2/ Spread the breasts with the mustard, season with the salt and then scatter over the remaining ingredients so that each chicken breast is nicely covered. Now you want to enclose the chicken in the foil so bring up the oppsoing corners and scrunch together in the middle. You want to leave a little bit of air in the package so don’t seal it tight on top of the chicken breasts.

3/ Bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes- (depending on the size of the chicken) at which point you will have delicious juices in the bottom of the foil and really tender and moist chicken. Slice and serve with steamed greens or salad- pouring over the leftover pan juices.

28 Responses to “Steam-baked lemon & chili chicken”


  1. 1 Julia August 30, 2009 at 9:17 am

    This looks great. I bet the chicken’s really moist being steamed like that. Healthy too, what a bonus!

    Thanks for entering.

  2. 2 Velva August 30, 2009 at 10:03 am

    This looks really good! Health and fresh.

    By the ay, it can’t be too bad to be a foodie from London and and become a foodie in New York. That’s pretty sweet!

  3. 3 Anna Helm August 30, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    thanks, Julia!
    Velva- no really I can’t complain! thanks for stopping by!

  4. 4 divinape August 30, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    That looks scrumptious.

  5. 5 Angelia McGowan August 30, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    Those look like delicious flavors, I love lemon chicken, and pairing it with the chilies is a great idea!

  6. 6 Don September 1, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    I can vouch for this recipe – it’s incredibly simple, and almost every other way I cook chicken turns it into something resembling beef jerky, whereas this keeps it lovely and moist.

  7. 8 Jules September 7, 2009 at 5:53 am

    I made this last night – truly yummy! We made it with knobbly mustard (not dijon), which worked fine. Served with couscous (which had spring onions, red pepper, garlic and tomato finely chopped and cooked into it, with vegetable stock). Nom.

  8. 9 Rachel September 7, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Hey! I resent being lumped in with the kebabs-and-microwave crowd.

    Seriously though, this looks scrummy. Will definitely add this to the ‘easy and quick to do’ weeknight food options.

  9. 10 applec September 8, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    So easy and looks great. It sounds like a recipe you can’t mess up. Yummy.

  10. 11 Helen September 9, 2009 at 8:02 am

    This looks like a lovely recipe. Delicious AND healthy,now there’s combination one doesn’t see very often and I think one which should never be forced. It’s either healthy by accident or it it’s just full of delicious fat!

  11. 12 nora@ffr September 13, 2009 at 3:51 am

    vat a temptng recipe!!1 i shud tr this!! yummmmm!!

  12. 13 facebook July 10, 2014 at 9:40 am

    Now is the time to apply the adhesive but there is a small
    step before that. They can join groups and ‘like’ their favorite musicians, TV shows, authors and organizations.

    You don’t want them to think that you are playing mind
    games with them and trying to provoke a reaction from them
    – that will only make you look childish and sad.

  13. 14 Jordan September 17, 2014 at 2:49 am

    You actually make it appear so easy with your presentation however I
    in finding this topic to be actually something which I
    believe I might by no means understand. It seems
    too complicated and very wide for me. I’m looking forward on your next publish, I’ll attempt to get the
    grasp of it!

  14. 15 klenbuterol shop September 18, 2014 at 9:26 pm

    Hello there, just became alert to your blog through
    Google, and found that it’s really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels.
    I will be grateful if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your
    writing. Cheers!

  15. 16 прыщи после курса станазалола September 18, 2014 at 10:55 pm

    Hi there! This article couldn’t be written any better!
    Going through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him.
    Fairly certain he’ll have a great read. I appreciate you for
    sharing!

  16. 17 Isiah September 20, 2014 at 12:43 am

    It’s nearly impossible to find educated peoplе for this topic,
    but you sound like you know ԝhat yօu’re talking about! Ƭhɑnks

  17. 18 Route Your Destination September 20, 2014 at 6:35 am

    Superb blog you have here but I was wanting to know if
    you knew of any community forums that cover the same topics discussed here?
    I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get advice
    from other experienced people that share the same interest.

    If you have any recommendations, please let me
    know. Thanks!

  18. 19 compare mobile phone deals September 20, 2014 at 2:33 pm

    Definitely imagine that which you said. Your favourite reason appeared to be
    at the internet the easiest thing to have in mind of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed even as people think about concerns that they just don’t recognise
    about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the
    top and defined out the whole thing with no need side effect , other folks could take a signal.

    Will probably be back to get more. Thank you

  19. 20 more resources September 21, 2014 at 10:58 pm

    Simply wish to say your article is as surprising.
    The clarity in your post is just spectacular and
    i can assume you are a professional in this subject. Fine along with your
    permission let me to take hold of your feed to stay up to date with drawing close
    post. Thank you one million and please continue the gratifying work.

  20. 21 Snorerx September 23, 2014 at 2:15 am

    The primary benefit is the fact that SnoreRx will stop you against snoring
    by moving your lower jaw
    forward sufficiently to allow for the airway to your lungs to
    remain open when you are sleeping.
    SnoreRx is the Prescription for Snoring!
    From my personal experience, both my spouse and i have taken advantage of using SnoreRx to
    prevent us keeping each other awake with out loud snores.
    We were considering getting in
    separate rooms! Ouch.

    SnoreRx is comfortable to put on – it is painless.

    SnoreRx is a Medical Grade product that does what it says on the
    “box”!

    There are no bits that come loose and be accidentally swallowed.And also the system doesn’t have metal hardware to chip teeth.
    SnoreRx ensures
    against the painful jaw pain as a result of TMJ.

    SnoreRx eliminates the danger of suffocation because
    it maintains an open airway.
    It also prevents ligament damage. The impression prevents movement of the teeth
    an enables the even distribution of pressure to avoid teeth movement.

    Fantastic Testimonials
    I’ve read many hundreds of really positive testimonials.

    “I tried another product first and discovered it was not the
    product for me,
    after giving back the product I got myself yours.
    Fantastic job!”
    “I got this system for my son, and works well.

    Shipping was fair price
    and arrived fast. Works perfectly “
    PRICE
    The purchase price is fantastic as dentist will make custom devices for about $1200 whereas
    SnoreRx costs less than a tenth of that price.
    Customer support

    Testimonial after testimonial refers back to the excellent customer service mostly when
    the customer had fouled up. There was clearly NO arguments – they
    merely replaced the product!

    “I screwed up the very first time I got it, but sent it back
    and the same day they shipped me a new one, appreciate it!”

  21. 22 makeup tips September 23, 2014 at 11:39 am

    I delight in, cause I found just what I used to be having a look for.
    You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day.

    Bye

  22. 23 street October 3, 2014 at 9:13 pm

    I constantly spent my half an hour to read this weblog’s articles or reviews every day along with a mug
    of coffee.

  23. 24 oracles October 4, 2014 at 8:55 am

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your
    web site and in accession capital to assert that I get actually
    enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and
    even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  24. 25 Thủ thuật máy tính October 11, 2014 at 10:13 pm

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe that this web
    site needs much more attention. I’ll probably be returning to see more, thanks
    for the advice!

  25. 26 blanket prevue products October 17, 2014 at 8:55 pm

    Hi, after reading this awesome article i am too glad to
    share my experience here with friends.

  26. 27 seo October 28, 2014 at 12:42 am

    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Perfectly written!


  1. 1 Green Coffee Max Cleanse Trackback on September 14, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

