BSI Challenge: Oats

flapjack3

This weeks Blogger’s secret ingredient challenge is hosted by Jessica at Johnstone’s Vin Blanc and it was one that I got really excited about- oats. Ahh, oats, glorious oats. We plow through an inordinate amount of oats in our kitchen- sometimes I think I ought to be a spokeswoman for them.  Don and I both eat them for breakfast in mulitiple disguises and I find myself chucking them into all sorts of things for added texture and the health factor doesn’t hurt either.

I was going to come up with a new recipe but on second thought, being that this is a competition I thought I ought to get out the big guns. No ordinary oatmeal, pancake or granola recipe was going to do. I needed to enter my finest oat recipe- or rather my mum’s. This is one of my most popular recipes on the site (thanks mum!) and as far as I’m concerned  it deserves another day in the spotlight.

These are essentially chewy granola bars- bound together using golden syrup and either margarine or butter. The edges are crispy the insides chewy and totally moorish. I think that they are best straight from the oven, before they have even set- but my father likes them after a few days when they’ve….uh, matured, I suppose. Either way, there’s really nothing here not to like.

Go over to Jessica’s site to check out the other entries!

flapjack1

Mum’s flapjacks

If you are really adverse to margarine then you can opt for butter but whatever you do, make sure that you have a taste of them fresh out of the oven.

Makes about 15

Diet Facts: hydrogenated fats and sugar slathered oats, sounds like a granola bar to me!

225g/8 oz margarine (or butter)

175g/6 oz sugar

140g/5oz golden syrup

425g/15oz oats (the 1 minute variety, not instant or rolled)

1 heaped tbsp/ 1 oz plain flour

small handful pumpkin and/or sunflower seeds (optional)

2 Tbsp flax seeds (optional)

1/ Heat the oven to 350F/180C/Gas 4. Line a 20 x 30 cm ( baking tin with greaseproof paper (parchment paper)

2/ In a large pan, heat together the margarine, sugar and golden syrup over a gentle heat, stirring until the margarine has melted. Tip in the flour and the oats and stir to combine.

3/ If using any of the optional seeds, stir through at this point. Tip your pan and spread evenly. Bake in the oven for roughly 20-25 minutes or until lightly golden (they will be slightly darker at the edges). Cut them, whilst still in the pan immediately.

Other oatty recipes you may like…

Chocolate hobnobs

Chocolate flapjacks

Energy bars

Oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, with avocado

Nut & seed refrigerator bars

Peanutbutter granola

4 Responses to “BSI Challenge: Oats”


  1. 1 Cucinista September 6, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Great BSI entry! Love the flapjack recipe — giggle on the diet info. Your blog looks great and I’ll be stopping back.

  2. 2 Jessica @ JJsVinBlanc September 7, 2009 at 7:10 am

    Please let me know if you’d like to host this weeks BSI challenge, starting today 🙂

    (I’m putting a request out to all those who entered the Oats challenge.)

  3. 4 insideiamdancing September 15, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    Flapjacks are one of my all-time favourite foods! You are from London in NY? I am another UK person who lived in NY…when I ordered a flapjack in the US, I got pancake things. I wasn’t happy! Hehe. As soon as I saw the BSI, I thought of flajacks- underrated but oh-so-fabulous 😀


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

