The Blogger Secret Ingredient Is…

Chocolate!

Oh, chocolate. I can’t quite believe the BSI challenge has been going for nearly a year without featuring this most wonderful ingredient. It’s my indulgence, addiction, bad-day-at-work-nothing’s-going-my-way comforter, ultimate luxury vice all rolled into one. It ends up in most of my baking exploits, and can also make for some fabulous savories (Don’s and my favorite NY tapas place serves a fantastic chocolate and chorizo plate).

Thanks to Jessica of the wonderful Johnstones Vin Blanc for picking my oat flapjacks  last week, and for asking me to host this week’s competition.

Now let’s see what you can do with this wonder-stuff! Everyone is very welcome to participate.

Please submit a recipes using any kind of chocolate to me. You may either comment (below) and leave a link to your blog post (your post should link back to this post or to my blog) OR you can e-mail it to: annalhelm@gmail.com

I’ll reply back to your post once I receive it.

Deadline: Please submit recipes before 9:00 PM EST on Sunday, September 13th. There will be a round-up of everyone’s posts on Monday, September 14th. The winner will also be announced on Monday along with next week’s host site.

Give me a tweet too – more entrants = more recipes = more chocolate heaven!!

Ready… Steady… GO!

Here are the hosts of the BSI challenge – be sure to check them out!!

Week 46: Johnstone’s Vin Blanc – Oats

Week 45: Guilty Kitchen – Figs

Week 44: Ordinary Recipes Made Gourmet – Peanut Butter

Week 43: The Sophisticated Gourmet – Brown Sugar

Week 42: My Kitchen Addiction – Lime

Week 41: Nutmeg Nanny – Coffee

Week 40: Chaya’s Comfy Cook – Broccoli

Week 39: Healthy Delicious – Plums

Week 38: Zoe – Feta

Week 37: ChezWhat– Potatoes

Week 36: Cinnamon, Spice & Everything Nice – Blueberries

Week 35: Girlichef -Greens

Week 34: The Ungourmet – Watermelon

Week 33: Bread + Butter – Bell Pepper

Week 32: Burp and Slurp -Corn

Week 31: Say Yes to Salad – Kabocha

Week 30: Thinspired – Bananas

Week 29: To Be The Whole PackageAlmonds

Week 28: Kristas Kravings – Lemon

Week 27: From French Fries To Flax Seeds – Coconut

Week 26: Plentiful Plants – Avocado

Week 25: Training Fuel – Eggs

Week 24: Dinner at Christina’s – Cabbage

Week 23: Hey What’s for Dinner, Mom? – Strawberries

Week 22: One Bite at a Time – Basil

Week 21: Just Sweet Enough – Black Beans

Week 20: What I Ate Yesterday – Kale

Week 19: What’s for Dinner – Orange

Week 18: BranAppetit! –Spinach

Week 17: Tales of Expansion Dates

Week 16: Biggest Diabetic Loser – Zucchini

Week 15: Sweet & Natural –Peppermint

Week 14: bella eats [and runs] – Ginger

Week 13: Coffee Talk – Walnuts

Week 12: For the Love of OatsPumpkin

Week 11: Trying to Heal – Sweet Potatoes

Week 10: The Inner Workings of a College Graduate – Eggplant

Week 9: Itzy’s Kitchen – Pears

Week 8: The Fitnessista – Cranberries

Week 7: Tri to Cook – Lentils

Week 6: Rhodey Girl Tests – Polenta

Week 5: Eating Bender – Butternut Squash

Week 4: Care to Eat – Apples

Week 3: On a Lobster PlacematBananas

Week 2: Hangry Pants – Tomatoes

Week 1: sportsnutritionliving – Quinoa

30 Responses to “The Blogger Secret Ingredient Is…”


  1. 1 Jessica @ JJsVinBlanc September 7, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    I can not beleive that Chocolate hasn’t been used yet either (just like Oats)! Great choice, I’m excited to see what recipes you get!!

  2. 2 Christina September 7, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    Wow I can’t believe it hasn’t been used, either!! I’m not a major chocolate fan, but I think that’s part of the BSI challenge – to test your creativity with an ingredient! Let’s see if I can come up with something I end up loving! 🙂

  3. 3 Jamie September 8, 2009 at 5:49 am

    Ah yes, chocolate and I have just the entry! Perfect! And I am so with you on this one!

  4. 4 chayacomfycook September 8, 2009 at 8:36 am

    You made my day. Chocolate – I love to bake with chocolate. I love to eat chocolate. I love to savor chocolate. This is a wonderful ingredient.

  5. 6 Rebecca September 8, 2009 at 10:47 am

    oh this will be a great one, like your blog by the way will be back

  6. 7 biz319 September 8, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Great choice! I was too busy to participate last week, but hope to submit something this week – thanks for hosting! 😀

  7. 8 Lara (Thinspired) September 8, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    I can’t believe chocolate hasn’t been used yet! What a great choice 🙂

  8. 10 Anna Helm September 9, 2009 at 7:26 am

    Happy there are so many chocolate lovers out there! Chayacomfycook thanks for the shout-out on your site. Please continue to spread the word! Jamie- great entry, all those photos!!!

  9. 11 Faith September 10, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Oooh, the perfect ingredient! Great choice! I made Black Forest Oats…

    http://www.thought4food.us/?p=1029

  10. 13 Christina September 12, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Hi Anna I’ve emailed you both of my entries!! 🙂

  11. 14 chayacomfycook September 12, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    I have wanted to make Flourless Brownies for ages and see if my husband with celiac would try them. He did and he liked them. The recipe is from Nigella Lawson.

    http://comfycook.wordpress.com/2009/09/11/flourless-brownies-the-best/

  12. 15 Cucinista September 13, 2009 at 7:55 am

    Can’t compete with the cakes so gone for something totally different and made a chocolate and chili mole for some chicken:

    Chicken with chocolate mole

  13. 17 biz319 September 13, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    I just posted by BSI submission – Best Cocoa Mix!

    http://biz319.wordpress.com/2009/09/13/bsi-chocolate-best-hot-cocoa-mix/

    Hope you are enjoying your Sunday! 😀

  14. 18 Anna Helm September 13, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Great entries! anyone interested in hosting next weeks challenge please let me know!

  15. 19 Kelly September 13, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    I know I just sneaked in a little late but I couldn’t help but posting a second recipe:
    http://pink-apron.com/2009/09/blogger-secret-ingredient-chocolate-part-2/


  1. 1 Blogger Secret Ingredient Chocolate Goes Savory Trackback on September 12, 2009 at 12:02 am
  2. 2 BSI – Chocolate! Best Hot Cocoa Mix « Biggest Diabetic Loser Trackback on September 13, 2009 at 12:27 pm
  3. 3 Live Laugh Eat » Blog Archive » Blogger Secret Ingredient Trackback on October 6, 2009 at 10:21 am
  4. 4 Happy Birthday, Blogger Secret Ingredient! « MegaNerdRuns Trackback on October 19, 2009 at 7:05 am
  5. 5 Another week, another ingredient « Foodie in the City Trackback on November 9, 2009 at 10:39 am
  6. 6 Another week, another…. « CookinFanatic Trackback on November 16, 2009 at 11:43 am
  7. 7 Week 60: Garlic « Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now Trackback on December 7, 2009 at 9:12 pm
  8. 8 Blogger Secret Ingredient: Week 61 – Nutmeg! « Peanut Butter Fingers Trackback on December 14, 2009 at 3:25 pm
  9. 9 Blogger Secret Ingredient: Week 62 – Balsamic Vinegar | A Fit and Spicy Life Trackback on December 21, 2009 at 3:50 pm
  10. 10 I’m hosting BSI this week! « Chicago Marathon Val Trackback on January 18, 2010 at 4:03 pm
  11. 11 Blogger Secret Ingredient – Week 80 – Capers | Fuss Free Flavours Trackback on May 17, 2010 at 4:28 am

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

