Empty fridge fritatta

salmon & leek fritatta

Nothing gives me great satisfaction than clearing out the contents of my fridge. Don will ask what’s for dinner and I’ll simply reply the fridge (in a mad professor sort of way). There are a few lucky ingredients that I always try to have stocked and running out of them warrants immediate replacement- eggs, butter, greek yogurt, saracha chili sauce, dijon mustard, parmesan. But then there are those, which make fleeting appearances- flavours of the month, so to speak. I know, I’m so fickle with my favourites. Thank god for Don, I’m not fickle with my husbands.

This past month it was roasted smoked salmon- I had two large pieces and found myself scattering them over salads, into pasta and then finally the last 100g went into a brunch fritatta. Our friend Marc played victim to my tipping-the-entire-fridge-into-a-pan-experiment. We have a nice little routine going on with Marc- he comes over on Saturday mornings and plays personal trainer/army drill sargent to Don and I.  We in return reward him for having acheived making us do burpees and push-ups by making him breakfast. I can’t be certain but I’m beginning to think that he may have the better end of the deal.

We’re always ravenous on return so breakfast has to be on the table quickly. One weekend last month I ended up making this fritatta- which not only warmed and comforted our empty bellies but also served the dual purpose of clearing out my fridge. And that left me feeling rather chuffed.

salmon & leek fritatta

It seems as though there’s a little bit of everything in here- well I guess there is. It is an emptying the fridge fritatta after all. But don’t feel like you have to stick by my fridge contents- the first time I made it I actually used yellow peppers courgettes and onions in place of the leeks. If you don’t have the salmon, you could use ham or bump up the amount of chorizo. Or drop the meat altogether. Just don’t drop the eggs- they happen to be the important part- the glue, so to speak. And just because I called them glue doesn’t mean you should skimp on them- delicious eggs come from happy hens who roam grassy fields pecking for plump grubs. I try to buy mine from the farmer’s market. Serve it with a fresh loaf of bread or a simple green salad, depending on hunger levels. And if you’re daring a drizzle of saracha chili sauce wouldn’t go amiss either.

This recipe is a contirbution to winos and foodies LIVESTRONG with a taste of yellow in support of the Lance Armstrong Foundation and to raise awareness of cancer issues worldwide. It seemed appropriate to me to share a recipe that in the making involved doing something to keep fit and healthy. The official Livestrong day is October 2nd and you can go to winos and foodies to see all the entries.

salmon & leek fritatta

salmon and leek fritatta

Empty fridge fritatta

I’ve made this a number of ways- it’s particularly good with courgettes and sliced yellow peppers. Really, anything goes. This is particularly delicious cold the next day with a salad for lunch.

Serves: 4-6

Diet Facts: Gluten free and full of veg

50g/ 2 oz chorizo, outside paper removed, finely sliced

1 Tbsp olive oil

3 medium-sized leeks, cleaned cut in half and sliced into half moons 1/2 cm thick

8 large eggs, lightly beaten

1 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

300g/ 10 oz frozen spinach, defrosted and liquid squeezed out

1 Tbsp butter or olive oil

100g/ 4 oz roasted smoked salmon

85g/ 3 oz feta cheese- or goats cheese, crumbled

50g/2 0z  Parmesan cheese, grated

1/ Heat a grill(broiler) on high and place the shelf in the second highest position. In a 12 inch frying pan over a medium-low heat cook the chorizo slices so until they have released their oils and are beginning to become crisp.

2/ Add the leeks to the pan and cook gently for about 10 minutes, until softened.  Meanwhile, whisk the eggs with the salt and pepper. Add the spinach to the pan and toss together to warm through. Remove everything from the pan.

3/ Melt the butter in the pan over a medium heat, then add the eggs to the pan and scatter over the removed ingredients along with the salmon, feta and Parmesan. Cook for 2 minutes, without touching then place under the grill (broiler) for another 1-3 minutes. Check after 1 minute to make sure that the cheese isn’t burning. It is cooked once the eggs are set and the cheese is golden.

4/ Allow to sit for 10 minutes before slicing into it. Serve with toast or a green salad.

Another Fritatta you may like to try

4 Responses to “Empty fridge fritatta”


  1. 1 barbara September 16, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I often make a similar dish too:)Thank you for supporting A Taste Of Yellow.

  2. 2 Divina September 17, 2009 at 4:46 am

    This is also my way of cleaning up my fridge. Lovely combination of flavors.

  3. 3 Tanya September 17, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    I’m so hooked on frittatas these days and I love your addition of salmon!

  4. 4 Eralda September 17, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    I too love emptying the fridge. Partly because I feel like the perfect housekeeper, keeping waste at bay, and partly because it gives me a reason to go to the grocery store and spend inordinate amounts of money on cheese and other deliciousness.

    The frittata looks beautiful and delicious. I love smoked salmon. Love it!


Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

