English scones, revisited

scones

Is it just me or have things cooled down quite dramatically in the past two weeks? I’m running in a long sleeve tee-shirt and sweats, my feet have demanded my Ugg boots to make a reappearance and I’ve eaten soup the past three days. I could be wrong, but something says that winter is poking it’s chilly head around the corner, to me.

Being that I’ve spend the past six weeks in West Virginia, around a bunch of English crew I’ve been feeling a few pangs for food from home, and not my Brooklyn home. Perhaps it’s the offerings of Galaxy chocolate and Walker’s Shortbread but I’m now dreaming about Yorkshire puddings, curries (because everyone knows they are practically English) and scones. With clotted cream and jam, of course.

I’ve made these before but I think you’ll forgive me once you make them. They make me feel ever so British, even in a place where people prefer biscuits and say things like hey, ya’ll. But don’t you go pronouncing them Sc-owns- it’s more like Skons where I come from. A sc-own is what you’ll find behind the glass in Starbucks- not an ounce of authenticity, I’ll have you know.

These have a crisp outer shell, which when you slice it open presents a soft buttery pillow of layers- the perfect bed for a slathering of clotted cream and jam. Oh, yes. Or perhaps I should say Yee-ha!

scones

English Scones ( pronunciation: sk-on)

These scones are so quick to make and they freeze beautifully. Just pull them out of the freezer and heat in the oven for 10 minutes before serving. This recipe makes about 8 mini scones but you can easily double or triple it- and if you like them sweeter then just add more sugar. I eat mine with cheddar cheese and raspberry preserves, lemon & lime curd or with clotted cream and fresh strawberries.

Serves 8 as part of high tea
Diet Facts: Low sugar

225g/2 2/3 cups self-raising flour (if you live in America, use half plain cake flour, half plain flour and 2 tsp of baking powder self-raising flour alone makes them too dense and self-raising cake flower makes them too salty and they don’t rise as well)
½ tsp salt
50g/2 oz butter
1 tbsp caster sugar
150ml/5 fl oz milk, plus extra to glaze

1/ Preheat the oven to 220C/425 F/Gas 7. If you are using a convection/fan oven drop the temperature 25 degrees. Flour a baking sheet.

2/ Sift the flour and salt together in a large bowl. Rub in the butter until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Stir in the sugar. Make a well in the flour and gradually pour in most of the milk, mixing quickly with a knife as you pour. DO NOT ADD ALL THE MILK AT ONCE YOU MAY NOT NEED IT ALL. You should get a soft but not wet/sticky dough. It should look scraggly.

3/ On a lightly floured board, gently bring together the dough and roll or press out until it’s 2.5cm/1 inch thick and stamp out into rounds. I used a 2.5cm/1inch cutter and made 8 rounds. In between each stamp, dip the cutter in flour and with a firm shake downwards release the scone directly onto the baking sheet- try not to press with your fingers. It is also important to cut directly down into the dough, if you twist then they will rise unevenly.

4/ Place on the baking sheet and brush with extra milk. Depending on size bake for 15-20 minutes, or until risen and golden. Serve warm.

8 Responses to “English scones, revisited”


  1. 1 mona October 8, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    omg nothing is better anna. NOTHING. and the clotted cream. omg. i’m drooling.

  2. 2 Bill October 11, 2009 at 1:29 am

    These scones are heavenly. I especially love them with strawberry jam! Mouthwatering.

  3. 3 Stroppy Rachel October 21, 2009 at 5:34 am

    I use buttermilk for scones whenever possible, as I think the texture is much lighter.

    My favourite scones are cheese and oniony, where I use the buttermilk left over from soaking a batch of onion rings.

  4. 4 Sara October 25, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    love how thick they are! gorgeous!

  5. 5 Berniece April 12, 2014 at 6:49 am

    I write a comment whenever I appreciate a article on a site or I have something to contribute to
    the discussion. Usually it’s triggered by
    the sincerness communicated in the post I read. And on this post English scones, revisited | London Foodie In New York.
    I was moved enough to drop a thought 😉 I do have a few questions for you
    if it’s okay. Could it be just me or do a few of these comments appear like they are written by brain dead visitors?
    😛 And, if you are posting at other online sites,
    I’d like to follow anything fresh you have to post.

    Would you make a list all of your social pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  6. 6 Find local Contractors September 4, 2014 at 5:58 am

    I know this web site presents quality based articles and other data,
    is there any other web page which offers these kinds of data in quality?

  7. 7 Copy Stamp July 24, 2015 at 11:19 pm

    But all these conmen do is just move on to new ebay names
    and continue to fleece the unsuspecting.


  1. 1 Fab Frugal Food » Basic English Scone Mix Recipe and Two Variations: Orange Cranberry Scones Recipe and Herb Cheddar Scones Recipe Trackback on December 7, 2009 at 2:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier

