A RECIPE: Porridge with instant raspberry jam

breakfast5.jpg

Being English, this is what I know about breakfast. A cooked breakfast includes any or either of the following: a soft boiled egg with soldiers, a fried egg with back bacon, sausages, mushrooms, tomatoes, fried bread and optional baked beans . A standard breakfast would entail museli/cereal with milk, toast with honey, marmite or jam, porridge and on Sundays you may be witness to a Croissant at the table. Pancakes of the scotch variety are eaten with butter at tea-time (because everyone knows that the clock stops at 4pm in England, so everyone can sit down for high-tea) and crepes are eaten on Pancake (Shrove) Tuesday or at the local school fair. Waffles are eaten for dessert or from a street vendor and French toast is made sans sucre, appropriately renamed eggy-bread and you may eat it for breakfast, but more likely for supper.

To cut a whole lot of waffling short, breakfast in England is savoury and what Americans’ choose for breakfast we eat for tea or pudding. A few weeks ago at work we had a recipe for creme brulee french toast– country white bread, soaked over night in sweetened cream and Grand Marnier mixture sat on top of a butter and brown sugar sauce. My stubborn British palette nearly had a taste-bud fit when I realised that this recipe was intended for breakfast! Call me crazy, but this recipe had all the components of a decadent bread & butter pudding, minus the custard to serve. It’s not because I lack a sweet tooth that I found this shocking- on the contrary, I have a reputation for looking at the dessert menu before the dinner menu. But I grew up believing that sweet things came only after you had finished what was on your plate and breakfast was savoury- perhaps with sweet accompaniments but savoury nevertheless. And of course, all this talk of breakfast got me thinking about my favourite meal of the day. Some girls daydream about new shoes or the cute boy in their office but for me- I daydream about breakfast (and that makes getting up in the morning a whole lot easier).

I get fixated on breakfasts in an obsessive compulsive sort of way- so much so that I’m looking forward to the next days breakfast before I’ve even finished the one I’m eating. My latest breakfast craze is porridge, a breakfast that I think is so frequently overlooked because it’s either been made with cheap oats and water or because its made so carelessly it looks like gruel. Obviously, for those of us porridge-connosieurs out there, we know that porridge is more than just add-hot-water-and-stir. Oh, yes, there is technique and proportions involved in making good porridge- I’m suprised Delia hasn’t caught on to this already. The key is to use Rolled oats. Yes, they take longer to cook, but we’re talking a matter minutes and you’ll make up those minutes because they’ll fill you up for much longer and you won’t be thinking about your lunch an hour after breakfast. I also recommend using some milk (soy or rice will do), there’s something in the milk that makes the oats less gluey and more creamy and flavourful. Now, how many more hours are there to go until breakfast?

breakfast31.jpg

Porridge with Instant Raspberry Jam

We all have our own methods for making porridge, whether its with rolled oats or quick oats, made with milk or water, runny or stodgy or whether it should be eaten savoury or sweet. I’ve tried it many ways and this is my latest favourite. It came about when I gasped at the price of fresh raspberries at the market this winter and found out that I had more of my mother in me than I’d once thought. This only works with frozen raspberries because when they are smothered in the hot oats they release their juices and fall apart in the bottom of your bowl. Clever.

Serves one lazy cook

Gluten-free and vegan if you use soy milk and soy yogurt.

30g/1/3 cup rolled oats

60ml/ 1/4 cup milk (2% or higher is best)

80ml/1/3 cup water

big handful/ 1/2 cup frozen raspberries

Greek yoghurt, to serve

1. In a small saucepan, place your oats along with the milk and water and set aside for 5-10 minutes (this allows the oats to absorb some of the liquid so that they cook more evenly). Meanwhile, take your frozen raspberries out of the freezer and place in your serving bowl.

2. Cook the oats over a low-medium heat, stirring occasionally until it comes up to the boil and has absorbed most of the liquid. Pour the hot oats over your raspberries and top with yoghurt (and sugar if you must). Wait a day and repeat.

13 Responses to “A RECIPE: Porridge with instant raspberry jam”


  1. 1 Jackie March 31, 2008 at 10:34 am

    wait a minute- that porridge actually looks good!

  2. 2 amelia April 1, 2008 at 11:26 am

    Yum! I love breakfast too, and have finally found someone who feels as passionate about it as i do! I in fact had porridge with raspberries this morning, it was delicious. There’s nothing beter than a creamy, thick, hot bowl of porridge in the mornings…cant wait till tomorrow morning!

  3. 3 Chou April 1, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    I quite like the savory tradition for breakfast–my nemesis happens to be any mass produced breakfast “bar” or “cookie”. Bleck.

  4. 4 Karen April 1, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    My mom fed us porridge every morning as a child. I got burned out on it. This looks good and makes me want to give it another try.

  5. 5 Jules April 7, 2008 at 6:11 am

    We tend to soak the oats overnight (either in a pan of water on the kitchen surface, or in full-fat milk in the fridge – the milk method makes the porridge taste even creamier, without actually being sweet, and it’s quicker to cook as well).

    My current favorite is adding marmite to the porridge. Yum!

  6. 6 Rachel April 8, 2008 at 11:43 am

    Great recipe Anna – I make porridge all the time for breakfast as it’s cheap and filling and yummy! Usually I just add some honey for sweetness, but this is a fantastic idea. Thanks!

  7. 7 Install Windows 8 on Mac July 22, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    And many offer free trials that will give you time to see if it’s the right tool for you. * Gadgets and Extension Manager – Windows (and some applications) install different Gadgets and Extensions into your system. Another advantage that the Mac has is that you can increase your productivity when working on multiple programs because it is a lot faster and easier.

  8. 8 cartclam5.soup.io August 6, 2013 at 3:57 am

    Helpful info. Fortunate me I found your web site accidentally, and I’m stunned why this accident didn’t came about in advance!
    I bookmarked it.

  9. 9 Pearlene September 17, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    hey there and thank you for your info – I
    have definitely picked up anything new from right here.
    I did however expertise several technical issues using this web site, as I experienced to reload the web site many times previous to I could get it to load correctly.
    I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect
    your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if
    ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and
    can look out for much more of your respective fascinating content.

    Ensure that you update this again soon.

  10. 10 http://youtube.com/watch?v=2Ltxuxi232U September 28, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    I have been browsing on-line more than 3 hours today, yet
    I by no means discovered any interesting article
    like yours. It’s lovely price sufficient for me.
    In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made just
    right content as you probably did, the internet will be much more helpful
    than ever before.


  1. 1 A RECIPE: Museli without raisins « London Foodie In New York Trackback on July 13, 2008 at 9:44 pm
  2. 2 A RECIPE: Buckwheat & poppy seed muffins with a brown sugar glaze « London Foodie In New York Trackback on August 14, 2009 at 9:34 am
  3. 3 A RECIPE: Summer oatmeal « London Foodie In New York Trackback on August 21, 2009 at 11:02 am

Leave a comment




This site has moved!

http://www.londonfoodieny.com

Proud member of FoodBlogs

UK Food Bloggers Association

a

I am a friend of Local Food Advisor, visit the site to find your local food supplier